Energy Star certification launches for Canadian commercial buildings

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

ENERGY STAR certification is now available in Canada for commercial and institutional buildings for the first time. In an announcement made earlier this week, Canada’s Minister of Natural Resources, the Honourable Jim Carr, challenged building owners and managers to take advantage of this new tool to demonstrate their commitment to green growth and to be the first to apply to earn their certification.

“We have realized great successes through energy efficiency in Canada, and I am proud to bring ENERGY STAR certification to our tens of thousands of commercial and institutional buildings,” he said. “I encourage all building managers and owners to apply to be one of the firsts in Canada to become certified, thereby improving environmental performance, lowering greenhouse gas emissions and helping to build a better future for all Canadians.”

ENERGY STAR Portfolio Manager is a resource that building owners and managers can use to help manage energy consumption. Thousands are already doing their part for a low-carbon future using this Government of Canada, free, online energy-benchmarking tool to transform their buildings into greener, more energy-efficient spaces.

Starting this week, the Government of Canada will recognize commercial and institutional buildings that demonstrate exceptional energy performance with ENERGY STAR’s mark of superior energy efficiency. The program is expanding to encourage and recognize energy efficiency leaders in the building sector for their exceptional energy performance, corporate management and environmental stewardship.

In addition, the first buildings to be certified will receive additional recognition beyond the ENERGY STAR acknowledgement. The “Who Will Be the First?” challenge runs until April 30, 2018, 11:59 p.m. PDT.

ENERGY STAR certified buildings save energy, reduce costs and generate fewer greenhouse gas emissions than non-certified buildings. They often see higher rental and occupancy rates and greater engagement with clients and their communities.

Buildings now eligible for certification in Canada include the following with additional building types to be added over time:
• Commercial offices
• K–12 schools
• Hospitals
• Medical offices
• Senior care communities and residential care facilities
• Supermarkets and food stores
• Ice and curling rinks


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *