wood works awards

B.C. awards recognize excellence in wood

Thursday, July 15, 2021

Winners and nominees of the Wood WORKS! BC 2020 Wood Design Awards were honoured and recognized virtually for their leadership and innovation in structural and architectural wood use.

There were more than 50 nominations in nine categories for the 2020 awards – with nominations from all over the province, as well as some international project submissions from as far away as Taiyuan, China. All projects illustrate distinctive and unique qualities of wood such as strength, beauty, versatility, and cost-effectiveness while showcasing a variety of wood uses.

“With wood now recognized for its ability to significantly reduce greenhouse gas impacts in our built environment and increase construction efficiency, it now plays a leading role in the current design and building revolution. The continued exploration of new frontiers with wood is the foundation of our awards program and the projects presented here provide a view into the future,” said Lynn Embury-Williams, executive director of Wood WORKS! BC

Tsleil-Waututh Administration and Health Centre, Lubor Trubka Associates Architects. Photo: Ema Peter

Winners in the wood design categories include:

  • Residential Wood Design:  Perkins & Will for SoLo in the Soo Valley, B.C.
  • Multi-unit Wood Design:  Studio 531 Architects for Cubes in Courtenay, B.C.
  • Commercial Wood Design:  Proscenium Architecture and Interiors for MEC Vancouver Retail Store in Vancouver, B.C.
  • Institutional Wood Design:  Small:  dk Architecture for the Skeetchestn Health Centre in Savona, B.C.
  • Institutional Wood Design:  Large:  Lubor Trubka Associates Architects for the Tsleil-Waututh Administration and Health Centre in North Vancouver, B.C.
  • Western Red Cedar:  HDR Architecture Associates for the Lakehouse in Summerland, B.C.
  • International Wood Design:  Michael Green Architecture for the Catalyst Building in Spokane, Washington, USA

Two Jury’s Choice awards were also awarded. The first award went to Waymark Architecture for the Charter Telecom Headquarters in Victoria, B.C.  The second Jury’s Choice award went to Francl Architecture Inc. for the West Village District Energy Centre located in Surrey, .BC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *