2017-18 ASHRAE term

Iconic Vancouver architects honoured

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Vancouver architects Bing Thom, Joost Bakker and Norman Hotson have been honoured with the prestigious AIBC Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding career-long bodies of work. The three iconic architects received the award at the Architectural Institute of British Columbia’s 2017 Recognition Ceremony.

Bing Thom (who passed away in 2016) was a dedicated and artful city builder with a global reputation. During architecture school at the University of British Columbia he began working for his instructor and mentor, Arthur Erickson, and completed his Master of Architecture at the University of California at Berkeley. His commitment to using great architecture to improve the urban context and social condition has been recognized by a range of honours including the Order of Canada and the Golden Jubilee Medal. Among Bing’s successes is the Chan Centre for the Performing Arts at UBC and the creation of a new city centre for Surrey, B.C. with Central City.

Joost Bakker is an internationally recognized architect and urban designer. His passion for the public realm has inspired the creation of meaningful and memorable public places, such as the internationally recognized Granville Island; a project he led with Norm Hotson, his lifelong work partner who has had a profound influence on his career.

Norman Hotson graduated from the University of Toronto in 1969 with a Bachelor of Architecture (Honours) degree, receiving the Architectural Guild Gold Medal for the highest design achievement over the five-year program.  He established Norman Hotson Architects in 1973 in Vancouver practising architecture and urban design.  In 1985, he established Hotson Bakker Architects with Joost Bakker, his lifelong work partner and collaborator on many significant projects. Subsequent partners and mergers culminated in establishing the multi-disciplinary firm of Dialog.  Now a retired principal, Norm practices with his son at Hotson Architecture.

The AIBC also recognized volunteers who have displayed significant service and dedication to the institute. This year awards went to Scott Kemp, Gordon Richards, Stefan Aepli and John Davidson.

Finally, six AIBC council members were honoured for their contributions: Darryl Condon, Mona Lovgreen, David Yustin, Sara Kasaei, Scott Kemp and Jordan van Dijk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *