elegant energy efficiency

AIBC recognizes exceptional contributions

Monday, October 7, 2019

Vancouver architects Nicholas Bevanda and Terence Williams will be awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards at the AIBC 2019 Recognition Ceremony. The ceremony will take place in late November at the VanDusen Botanical Garden where exceptional contributions to the built environment and local communities will be celebrated.

Bevanda will be posthumously awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contributions to the built environment and community, particularly in the Okanagan. Throughout his career, Bevanda shared his architectural expertise in many ways – he was actively involved in his community, serving as a mentor and volunteering at several organizations. He sat on many committees at the Architectural Institute of B.C., the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, and various municipalities.

Williams is being recognized for his dedication to the profession, notably for his sustainable and innovative approach to design. He served on AIBC Council from 1978 to 1983, including two terms as president. He also sat on the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Board of Directors from 1984 to 1988, and was Chancellor of the RAIC College of Fellows.

AIBC volunteers, who are crucial to furthering the public-interest mandate of the Institute, are also recognized at the ceremony. Last year, nearly 200 volunteers collectively contributed 8500 hours to the Institute’s initiatives and programs.

Paul Kernan will receive the CEO Award for Exceptional Volunteer Service for his more than 20 years of volunteerism with the Institute and profession.

In addition, six AIBC Council members will be honoured for their contributions. They include Darryl Condon, Sean Ruthen, Marianne Amodio, Bruce Haden, Gordon Richards and Danica Djurkovic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *