Young leaders elected to VICA board of directors

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

The Vancouver Island Construction Association (VICA) and its membership elected four industry leaders to its 2019-2020 board of directors at its annual general meeting. There were nine nominees from across Vancouver Island.

Chris Williams, Houle Electric (Victoria), and Byron Tarby, National Contracting Solutions (Nanaimo), were newly elected to the VICA board of directors. James Clapp, JLT Marsh Specialty (Victoria), and Scott Torry, AFC Construction (Courtenay), were re-elected. Roger Yager will remain chair of the board and Dave Flint, Flynn Canada, will remain past chair. James Clapp is poised to be appointed vice chair at the first board meeting of 2020 after serving his second term on the board as the treasurer.

Tarby and Williams are both involved in the VICA U40 networks in their respective regions and will offer a fresh perspective to the board as it offers guidance and leadership on behalf of the VICA membership. Their fresh outlook on VICA’s member and industry services, combined with the knowledge and experience from the existing board of directors, sets the construction association up for further growth, development, and industry advocacy.

“I’m thrilled to see some young industry leaders joining the VICA board of directors this year, giving us a well-balanced leadership team in terms of experience and business types. Top that off with a thriving construction industry on Vancouver Island and a dedicated and diligent team at the association, and we’re set up for another year of growth and enhanced member services,” said Rory Kulmala, Chief Executive Officer, Vancouver Island Construction Association

This year, VICA introduced online voting for the election of the 2019/2020 VICA board of directors, offering members an easy way to cast a vote for their elected industry leaders from the office, jobsite, or home.

Outgoing directors include Keith Parsonage, Houle Electric (past vice chair), Tyler Galbraith, Jenkins Marzban Logan LLP, and Marnie Pringle, Starline Windows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *