RAIC medals

RAIC submission call for Governor General’s Medals

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts invite architects to participate in the competition for the 2022 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.

Awarded every two years, the 12 medals recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects, big or small, by Canadian architects. The Medals are among this country’s most prestigious and coveted architectural awards.

Recipients receive an exceptional opportunity to:

  • celebrate achievement with their team and clients.
  • reach new markets.
  • attract new business and talent.
  • gain exposure across Canada and internationally.

The call for submissions is open to all architects or teams of architects who were the lead design architects. They must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, and licensed or registered with a Canadian provincial or territorial jurisdiction.

The 2022 jury members are: Dr. Izabel Fraga Do Amaral E Silva, Director-School of Architecture, University of Montreal; Anik Shooner, FIRAC, President and co-founder of Menkès Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux Architectes, Montreal; Dr. Patrick Stewart, MRAIC, Principal-Patrick Stewart Architecture, Chilliwack; Christian Benimana, RA, Senior Principal MASS Design Group & Director of the African Design Centre, Kigali, Rwanda; and Dr. Lígia Nunes, Chair, architecture sans frontières International, Lisboa, Portugal.

Eligible projects are those that were built in and outside of Canada and completed between January 1, 2014, and September 1, 2021.

The submission deadline is December 10, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. ET. Applicants can use the RAIC’s new online submission platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *