RAIC Governor General’s Medal winners

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts have announced the Governor General’s Medal winners in Architecture. The biennial awards celebrate outstanding design in recently completed projects by Canadian architects.

The jury found that the 12 winning projects reflect themes of connection, revitalization, and experimentation.

“The recipients of these awards are among Canada’s finest architects,” said His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada. “I’m delighted to see such deserving projects being recognized and I offer my sincere congratulations to the recipients.”

The 2016 RAIC Governor General’s Medal winners:

  • Amphithéâtre Cogeco (Trois-Rivières, QC):Paul Laurendeau | François R Beauchesne | Architectes en consortium
  • BC Passive House Factory (Pemberton, BC): Hemsworth Architecture
  • Bridgepoint Active Healthcare (Toronto, ON): Stantec Architecture / KPMB Architects (Planning, Design and Compliance Architects) and HDR Architecture / Diamond Schmitt Architects (Design, Build, Finance and Maintain Architects)
  • Glacier Skywalk (Jasper, AB): Sturgess Architecture [right photo]
  • Halifax Central Library (Halifax, NS): Fowler Bauld & Mitchell Ltd. / schmidt hammer lassen architects
  • Nathan Phillips Square Revitalization (Toronto, ON): PLANT Architect in joint venture with Perkins + Will Canada, formerly Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners
  • Regent Park Aquatic Centre (Toronto, ON): MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects
  • Ronald McDonald House BC & Yukon (Vancouver, BC): MGA | Michael Green Architecture – project begun at mcfarlane | green | biggar architecture + design
  • Head Office of Caisse Desjardins de Lévis (Lévis, QC): Consortium ABCP architecture and Anne Carrier architecture
  • University of Manitoba ARTlab (Winnipeg, MB): Patkau Architects / LM Architectural Group
  • Wong Dai Sin Temple (Markham, ON): Shim-Sutcliffe Architects
  • Wood Innovation and Design Centre (Prince George, BC): MGA | Michael Green Architecture [left photo]

“This year’s award recipients are ambitious in their use of innovative and sustainable building technologies, and display a solid commitment to the public realm, “said RAIC President Allan Teramura, FRAIC.

The awards will be presented during a ceremony at Rideau Hall on September 20, 2016.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *