csla awards

CSLA Awards of Excellence winners announced

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

The Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) has announced the recipients of the Awards of Excellence. This year, 13 projects received a national award.

These award-winning projects are preeminent examples of Canadian landscape architecture. They illustrate the range of what landscape architects do and how landscape architects are helping to reshape communities by defining the places where we live, work and play.

Landscape architects are leading sustainability, conservation and recreation by promoting a broad vision of our environment and being key players in planning our cities.

Winners were selected by a national jury of landscape architects. Criteria applied by the jurors included:

  • demonstration of a deep understanding of the craft of landscape architecture and attention to composition and detail
  • demonstration of excellence in leadership, project management, breadth of work, new directions or new technology
  • innovation in concept, process, materials or implementation
  • promotion of the discipline amongst related professions, clients and the general public
  • demonstration of exemplary environmental and/or social awareness.

A total of 68 submissions were received. Dialog was a multiple winner with three winning projects.

The 2020 National Award Recipients were:

  • Community Wellbeing: A Framework for the Design Professions, Dialog
  • Walterdale Bridge (Edmonton, AB), Dialog
  • Mechanized River Valley Access (Edmonton, AB), Dialog
  • Archaeology and Calgary Parks Uncovering Human History (Calgary, AB)
    City of Calgary
  • Aga Khan Garden (Edmonton, AB), Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects (photo above)
  • Rain City Strategy: A green rainwater infrastructure and rainwater management initiative (Vancouver, BC), City of Vancouver.


For full list of winners, visit CSLA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *