Canadians earn plaudits for 2017-18 ASHRAE term

Friday, June 29, 2018

Canadian ASHRAE members were recognized for outstanding research, contribution to their local chapters and overall distinguished service earlier this week at the Society’s annual conference in Houston, Texas. Wrapping up the 2017-18 ASHRAE term with a slate of technical seminars on the wide range of concerns pertinent to sustainable technology and the built environment, attendees also celebrated the year’s achievements and ushered in the new executive officers for 2018-19, as Sheila Hayter assumed the presidency.

Darryl Boyce, assistant vice president, facilities management and planning, at Carleton University in Ottawa, now moves into the office of president-elect for a one-year term. Two other Canadians, Jeff Clarke, chief executive officer of Enviroair Industries Inc. in Montreal, and Russell Lavitt, senior mechanical engineer with Stantec in Winnipeg, have joined the board of directors for a three-year term.

Michael Roth, director and co-founder of Klimaat Consulting & Innovation Inc., in Guelph, Ontario, received the Crosby Field Award for the best paper presented to ASHRAE in 2017-18: Updating the ASHRAE Climate Design Data for 2017.

Mohammad Rafati Nasr, a test engineer at CORE Energy Recovery Solutions in Vancouver, and Carey Simonson, a professor at the University of Saskatchewan, received an award for their technical paper, Experimental Measurement of Frosting Limits in Cross-flow Air-to-Air Energy Exchangers. The paper also garnered the Willis H. Carrier Award, which is bestowed to an ASHRAE member who is no older than 32, for Nasr.

Abhishek Khurana of Brampton, Ontario, received the Chapter Program Star Award for contribution to ASHRAE’s Toronto chapter. Adam Graham, a member of ASHRAE’s Ottawa Valley chapter, won the William J. Collins Jr. RP Award for his fundraising acumen.

Five Canadians were among this year’s 21 recipients of ASHRAE’s Distinguished Service Award. This includes the new members of the board of directors, Jeff Clarke and Russell Lavitt. The three other honourees are: Roland Charneux, energy department director with Pageau Morel in Montreal; Isabelle Lavoie, general manager with Johnson Controls in Saint-Laurent, Quebec; and Cedric Trueman, an ASHRAE Life Member and now retired P.Eng. in Victoria, B.C.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *