Canada line

Canada Line wins CCPPP National Award

Thursday, November 23, 2017

The Canada Line P3 Rapid Transit project in Vancouver and The Iqaluit International Airport Project in Northern Canada were named Gold Award winners at the CCPPP 20th Annual National Awards for Innovation and Excellence in Public-Private Partnerships.

The Gold Award for Service Delivery was awarded to the Canada Line. The rapid transit project “continues to be a superlative success story after eight years of operation.” Initially delivered ahead of schedule and on budget for the 2010 Olympics, its usage level is far ahead of expectations, system service delivery performance meets and exceeds requirements, and it has been a major catalyst of economic activity.

The Gold Award for Infrastructure was awarded to the Iqaluit International Airport. The Awards Committee noted this project is “an outstanding demonstration of how vital infrastructure in Northern Canada can be successfully delivered in a public -private partnership.”  In addition, Committee members took particular note of the project proponent’s extensive and effective community engagement and the resulting incorporation of unique local considerations in the planning, design, construction and operations of this airport facility, including the reflection of cultural values.

In total, five projects were honoured as 2017 recipients of national awards for “demonstrating exceptional innovation and a standard of excellence in public-private partnerships,” according to the Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships (CCPPP).

Three Silver Awards were handed out to:

  • Calgary Composting Facility (Infrastructure)
  • City of Saint John – Safe, Clean Drinking Water Project (Project Development)
  • The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (Project Development)

“The Council’s Awards Program highlights the exceptional leadership and innovative thinking that distinguishes the Canadian P3 model as globally best-in-class,” says CCPPP president and CEO Mark Romoff. “We are proud to honour this world class work and acknowledge and celebrate their success. Congratulations to this year’s recipients.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *