Architectural excellence honoured by AIBC Awards

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Architectural excellence was honoured by The Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC) with its 2017 Architectural Awards.

Representing the best in architecture from the AIBC community, seven awards were presented in different categories.

The Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Awards in Architecture recognize excellence in completed architectural projects led or designed by AIBC members. Two projects received the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Award in Architecture – Medal: Audain Art Museum by Patkau Architects Inc. and Friesen Wong House by D’Arcy Jones Architecture Inc.

Two projects received the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Awards in Architecture – Merit: UBC Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre by KPMB Architects in joint venture with HCMA Architecture + Design Inc. and Tsawwassen Beach Home by Frits de Vries Architect Ltd.

The AIBC Emerging Firm Award recognizes firms that have shown exemplary promise, clear vision, and defined goals in the practise of architecture. It also celebrates and encourages newly-established firms that have embraced broader, modern types of practice reflecting the changing nature of the profession.  The award recipient was D’arcy Jones Architecture Inc.

The AIBC Special Jury Award is given for exceptional achievement, selected from all awards submissions and determined by the jury.

A Special Jury Award went to Christ Church Cathedral Restoration and Renewal by Proscenium Architecture and Interiors, Inc. for the long term stewardship of a significant heritage resource and seismic upgrading technology. Another Special Jury Award went to Sneakerbox by DCYT Architecture for providing creativity and value through design approach.

The 2017 AIBC Awards jury reviewed more than 46 submissions in order to select the recipients of the Architectural Awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *