EQ Awards

Winners announced for 2018 EQ Awards

Thursday, March 14, 2019

At EnerQuality’s recent 2018 EQ Awards, held at the Toronto Marriott Markham on Feb. 28, guests celebrated 20 years of EnerQuality and feted the accomplishments of industry leaders as award winners were announced.

“It speaks volumes to see how the longevity of EnerQuality and our certifications like ENERGY STAR have continued to remain relevant and grow in impact over the years,” said Corey McBurney, president of EnerQuality, in a news release. “The 2018 EQ Awards allowed the industry to celebrate where we have come from and spotlight the pioneers who are joining forces to carve a new path for the future with programs such as our ENERGY STAR Multifamily High Rise certification.”

“Our certifications are voluntary investments by our builders. EnerQuality is committed to ensuring the greater public is aware of the investment these builders are making for the sustainability of these communities,” added Shannon Bertuzzi, vice president of market development at EnerQuality.

The 2018 EQ Award winners include Times Group, in the Building Innovation in the Mid/High Rise category; Minto Communities, which won the ENERGY STAR for New Homes Builder (Large Volume) award; Roya Khaleeli of Minto Communities, who won the Leader of the Year award; and Sifton Properties, which was presented with the Ontario Green Builder award.

The 2018 EQ Awards also featured special designations to highlight outstanding contributions by industry professionals, including the 2018 Hall of Fame award, which was presented to Sean Mason, president of Sean Mason Homes. His company was among the first three builders in Canada to participate in and certify with the ENERGY STAR program, and the first in Canada to make it their standard offering. Sean Mason Homes has previously won BILD’s 2015 Green Builder of the Year award, as well as EnerQuality’s ENERGY STAR Builder (Small Volume) in 2018.

The Impact Award 2018 was presented to Tamarack Homes for making significant long-term voluntary progress in cutting carbon emissions and achieving outstanding energy efficiency and sustainability practices.

Click here to view the full list of winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *