2020 fellows canada

RAIC names 2020 Fellows from across Canada

Thursday, April 16, 2020

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) has announced the 31 individuals named to the RAIC College of Fellows for 2020. There are 13 cities and communities from across Canada represented in the cohort this year.

The College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) bestows Fellowship to RAIC members in recognition of outstanding achievement. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contribution, or distinguished service to the profession or the community.

Representing Canada coast-to-coast, the 31 new Fellows come from Saint John, NB, Montreal, QC, Ottawa, ON, Toronto, ON. Brantford ON, Winnipeg, MB, Calgary AB, Edmonton AB, Vancouver, BC, Regina, SK, Saskatoon SK, Saanichton BC, and Charlottesville Virginia.

Eleven 2020 New Fellows were named in Western Canada:


James Carter-Huffman, Vancouver
Joyce Drohan, Vancouver
Melissa Higgs, Vancouver
Richard F. Evans, Vancouver
Tracey Mactavish, Vancouver
Brian Wakelin, Vancouver

Victoria Chapter

Arthur James Finlayson, Saanichton


Coben Christiansen, Calgary
Cynthia Dovell, Edmonton
Jan Pierzchajlo, Edmonton
Patricia Swanson, Edmonton

The RAIC previously announced the Honorary Fellows for 2020 on February 7, 2020. The list of Honorary Fellows for this year include Kevin R. Hydes P. Eng, Lenore Lucey, FAIA, Mariam Kamara, and Mickey Jacob, FAIA.

Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic—which has led to the cancellation of the RAIC 2020 Conference on Architecture, and with it the College of Fellows Convocation—the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will be honoured at the 2021 convocation. The ceremony will occur during the 2021 RAIC Conference in Montreal from June 6 to 9, 2021.

The full list of 2020 Fellows can be found at RAIC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *