CISC announces steel design award winners

Thursday, October 9, 2014

The Canadian Institute of Steel Construction (CISC) announced the winners of its biennial National Steel Design Awards of Excellence competition during its annual conference in St.John’s, NL.

The CISC National Steel Design Awards are open to architects, engineers, developers, owners, contractors and other stakeholders involved with a building, bridge, industrial or other steel work project in which engineering demands, architectural considerations or sustainability requirements influenced the designer’s choice of steel as the most appropriate structural solution.

The awards are a culmination of a two year competition that brings together regional winners from across the country in four award categories: Architectural, Engineering, Sustainability and Bridges.

The award winners for 2014 are:

1. Engineering: Canadian Museum for Human Rights, Manitoba (pictured above)

Owner: Canadian Museum for Human Rights
Structural Engineer: Yolles, A CH2M Hill Company
Architect: Smith Carter Architects/Antoine Predock Architect PC
Project Manager / General Contractor: PCL Winnipeg
Fabricator, Detailer and Erector: Walters Group Inc.

2. Architectural: Capilano Cliffwalk, British Columbia

Owner: Capilano Group of Companies
Structural Engineer: Morrison Hershfield Ltd.
Project Manager / General Contractor: Marc Luc Lalumiere
Fabricator and Detailer: Solid Rock Steel Fabricating Co. Ltd.
Erector: Marc Luc Lalumiere, Solid Rock Steel Fabricating Co. Ltd.

3. Sustainability: Nova Scotia Power Corporate Headquarters, Nova Scotia

Owner: Nova Scotia Power Incorporated
Structural Engineer: BMR Structural Engineering Limited
Architect: WZMH
Fabricator and Erector: Marid Industries Ltd.

4. Bridges: Peace Bridge, Alberta

Owner: City of Calgary
Structural Engineer: Santiago Calatrava LLC/Stantec Consulting Ltd.
Architect: Santiago Calatrava LLC
Project Manager / General Contractor: Graham Infrastructure Ltd.
Erector: Norfab Mfg. (1993) Inc.