LAMP winners

2018 LAMP lighting finalists announced

Thursday, August 9, 2018

LAMP (Lighting Architecture Movement Project) has announced its top 10 lighting finalists in three categories for 2018. Judged by some of the world’s top lighting industry leaders, the lights were chosen from over 142 submissions worldwide, from 85 cities and 28 countries.

This year, LAMP’s gala event will kick off the Offsite Programming for IDS Vancouver on Tuesday, September 18 and winners will be announced on event day.

“IDS Vancouver has found a most ideal partner in the design forward, internationally recognized LAMP event. We couldn’t be more pleased to support the Gala and celebrated LAMP competition,” said Jody Phillips, director at IDS Vancouver.

In no specific order, LAMP’s top 10 established finalists are listed below, and emerging and student finalists can be viewed on L A M P’s website

  • OVO by Adrian Fisher from Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Boom by Stickbulb/RUX Studios from New York, NY, USA
  • Apollo Chandelier by Taylor McKenzie-Veal from  Chicago, IL & New York, USA
  • Just Another Lamp by David Grifols from Barcelona, Spain
  • L n°004 by Pierric De Coster from Antwerp, Belgium
  • Cube Petra by Stanev from Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Mito by Tom Fereday from Melbourne, Australia
  • EastWest Light by Ákos Huber from Kecskemet, Hungary
  • Portal by Mark Kinsley from Chicago, IL, USA
  • Orbital Series by Michel Duvernet from Nelson, BC, Canada

LAMP aims to introduce a broader audience to lighting design while promoting and connecting emerging talent to new markets. Each year the competition challenges designers to approach their lamps with the guidance of a theme. The judges made their decisions based on a set evaluation ranging from aesthetics, marketability, innovation, and unique interpretation of this year’s theme, Balance.

The 2018 esteemed panel of judges include: Ingo Maurer, Michael Anastassiades, Jaime Derringer (Design Milk), Alex Josephson (PARTISANS), Tim Rundle (Tim Rundle Studio), Scott Bridgens (Resident), Rich Brilliant Willing, Bec Brittain, and Robyn York (Inform Contract).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *