Gord Stewart ICBA

OHBA presents annual awards at President’s Gala

Monday, September 26, 2016

The Ontario Home Builders’ Association (OHBA) recently held a President’s Gala to welcome incoming president Neil Rodgers to his new role at the association. The event also served to pay tribute to local associations and members for their commitment to the organization.

The Stratford & Area Builders’ Association (SABA) was presented with the 2016 Local Association of the Year Award to recognize some of the association’s achievements, including community engagement, member services, exceptional leadership and successful advocacy work. SABA was recognized for its work within the community, especially as a partner to several high schools on build projects where they work with the students on the fundamentals of building and budgeting. Although funding for this program was set to be cut, SABA members pooled resources to fund this program themselves. In addition, the organization provides six annual scholarships to deserving students that are pursuing an apprenticeship or post-secondary education in the building and construction industry.

“SABA is a smaller local whose impact within the association and industry is huge. They are among the biggest advocates for encouraging youth to consider careers in the skilled trades and provide numerous opportunities for students to get involved and learn more,” said Neil Rodgers, new president of OHBA.

Chuck McShane, president of the Niagara Home Builders’ Association (NHBA) for the third time, was named 2016 OHBA Member of the Year is a dedicated member of NHBA.

“Chuck McShane has been a champion and leader within his local association as well as here at OHBA,” said Rodgers. “His can-do attitude and desire to affect positive change within the industry is inspiring. Never one to shy away from any task, Chuck is always the first to throw his name in the right and it is nice to know we have a member of his caliber to call upon when needed.”

John Herbert, executive officer of the Greater Ottawa Home Builders’ Association (GOHBA), was recognized for his outstanding contributions to the industry and his fellow association professionals.

“We have truly benefitted from having John as part of our association,” said Rodgers. “His unwavering commitment to the industry, his success as an executive officer and his devotion to giving back to the community has led to the success of many events and initiatives across the province. John is known for his passion for the industry and never one to shy away from the issue. The association is fortunate to have a strong advocate like John in our midst.”

Other award recipients include Diane Murray of Union Gas, who was presented with a special recognition award for her outstanding leadership within the industry and her contributions to the association. Diane has served on the OHBA Executive Committee for 11 years and is an active member of her local association. Chatham-Kent Home Builders’ Association (CKHBA) was honoured with special recognition for charitable work within the community, as the association undertook the initiative to renovate the home of a young girl with a rare congenital defect to accommodate her medical needs. Sheila Hissa of Prime Time Financial, Shari Pryce of Reliance Home Comfort and Dorothy Stewart of Enbridge were also honoured with special recognition awards for their contributions to their local association, the Simcoe County Home Builders’ Association (SCHBA).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *