Canadian engineering students win ASHRAE Society scholarships

ASHRAE recognizes Canadian engineering students

Wednesday, August 4, 2021

Canadian engineering students are among the 33 winners of ASHRAE’s Society scholarships for 2021-22. The six recipients are pursuing studies at five different post-secondary institutions nationwide.

That includes two mechanical engineering students from Dalhousie University in Halifax. Erin Mackinnon received the USD $10,000 Willis H. Carrier scholarship, sponsored by Carrier Corp. and named in honour of the company’s founder. Hayley Knowles received the USD $5,000 Duane Hanson scholarship, established by Gayner Engineers, and similarly named for the company’s former president.

Yuna Oh, a mechanical engineering student at University of Waterloo, won the Lynn G. Bellenger engineering scholarship. The USD $5,000 award is specifically for a female undergraduate engineering student, and is named in tribute to and memory of ASHRAE’s first female president, who served in 2010-11.

Heather Ritter, an engineering student at University of Calgary, is this year’s Freshman scholarship winner, a USD $5,000 award for a student in the first year of engineering studies. Matthew Bigg, a student of Mechanical Engineering Technology – Building Sciences at Toronto’s Seneca College, received the USD $5,000 Engineering Technology scholarship.

Viktor Wozniak, an aerospace engineering student at Carleton University in Ottawa, received the $3,000 Ottawa Valley Chapter scholarship — one of four chapter-specific scholarships awarded in this round of announcements.

More than USD $2.25 million has been disbursed to more than 400 students through the Society scholarships over the past 30 years. Recipients must be fulltime students in a recognized program, meet a threshold grade point average, undergo an evaluation interview with an officer of the nearest local ASHRAE chapter and submit three letters of recommendation. Candidates are also assessed on financial need, leadership ability and work ethic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *