CWC wood excellence

CWC recognizes excellence in wood architecture

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

The Canadian Wood Council (CWC) has announced the 2018 Wood Design & Building Award winners. Submissions to the awards program were thoughtful in design and highlighted wood’s aesthetic and structurally diverse capabilities.

The Wood Design & Building Awards program is a unique opportunity to recognize exceptional wood buildings and celebrate design teams that continually challenge the possibilities for wood in construction.

A revered architectural jury hand-selected the winning projects at the end of December 2018. The jury consisted of: Shelley Craig, principal at Urban Arts Architecture; Paul Masi, principal at Bates Masi Architects; and Andrew Frontini, principal at Perkins + Will.

“The longevity of our prestigious Wood Design & Building Awards program is a testament to the innovation that exists for the wood products industry,” explained Etienne Lalonde, vice-president of CWC Market Development. “The quality of submissions received is paramount and a true reflection of the sophistication and refinement that is forever evolving for the wood industry.”

The award recipients for the 2018 Wood Design & Building Awards program are:


  • The Marine Education Center at the Gulf Coast Research Laboratory, Ocean Springs, Mississippi, Lake|Flato Architects with Associate Architect unabridged Architecture
  • Calgary Central Library (and Wood Soffit), Calgary, Alberta , Dialog Design with Snohetta
  • Henry David Thoreau Footbridge, Washington Depot, Connecticut, Gray Organschi Architecture
  • Chile Pavilion Expo Milan 2015 – Second Life, Temuco, Chile, Undurraga Deves Arquitectos
  • New headquarters FINSA, Santiago de Compostela, Spain, mrm+a architects
  • Forest Home, Helsinki, Finland, ORTRAUM architects


  • Voltigeurs de Québec Armoury, Quebec City, Quebec, A49 / DFS / STGM, architects in consortium
  • Backyard House, Seattle, Washington, Robert Hutchison Architecture
  • Common Ground High School, New Haven, Connecticut, Gray Organschi Architecture
  • Shonai Hotel Suiden Terrasse, Tsuruoka City, Japan, Shigeru Ban Architects
  • Collège Simone Veil, Lamballe, France, Dietrich | Untertrifaller with Colas Durand


  • Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia, Formline Architecture
  • High Horse Ranch, Willits, California , Kieran Timberlake
  • First Tech Federal Credit Union, Hillsboro, Oregon, Hacker
  • Harbour building WVIjburg, Amsterdam, the Netherlands, Margulis Moormaan Architects


  • Shane Homes YMCA at Rocky Ridge, Calgary, Alberta, GEC Architecture
  • John W. Olver Design Building, Amherst, Massachusetts, Leers Weinzapfel Associates
  • House on Ancaster Creek, Ancaster, Ontario, Williamson Williamson Inc.
  • Lake Rosseau Boathouse, Muskoka, Ontario, Atelier Kastelic Buffey

For full list of winners, visit Canadian Wood Council

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *